Skip to Main Content
Font Size + A -

GoI Initiatives


    MeitY has empaneled the Cloud Service offerings of major Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) for ease of Cloud procurement for the Government Departments. Presently, Cloud Services from prominent CSPs have been empaneled by MeitY and a Bouquet of Cloud Services has been formed consisting of three categories of Cloud Services defined as under: i. Basic Cloud Services consisting of Compute Service, Storage Service, Network Service, Database Service, Security Service, Support Service ii. Advanced Cloud Services consisting of Container Service, Managed Database as a Service, Content Delivery Network, MPLS Connectivity, HSM, DDoS, TLS / SSL Certificate Management, Dual / Multi Factor Authentication, Monitoring Services, Office Productivity Suite, Analytics Services. iii. Managed Services consisting of Disaster Recovery as a Service and Backup as a Service. MeitY's Bouquet of Services can be accessed / downloaded using the below link: Click here to open / download MeitY Bouquet of Cloud Services[PDF]484.57 KB Cloud services, under all the categories, are listed on the Government e-Marketplace (GeM) platform. The procurement of Cloud Services can easily be done through the GeM platform.


    MeitY invites applications from the Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) to empanel the Cloud Service Offerings of the: (i) Cloud Service Providers (whose services are not yet empaneled by MeitY), and (ii) To empanel additional service offerings and / or new Data Centres of CSPs whose services are currently empaneled with MeitY Cloud service offerings of Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) are empaneled with the Ministry of Electronics and IT (MeitY) for three Cloud deployment models, namely: Public Cloud, Virtual Private Cloud (VPC), and Government Community Cloud (GCC); and three service models: Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS) and Software as a Service (SaaS).

  • GI Cloud Initiative - Meghraj:

    Cloud Computing Services provide the new model of offering services (Platform as a Service (PaaS), Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), Software as a Services (SaaS) and Storage as a Service (STaaS)) to the users at fast pace which is also cost effective. In order to utilise and harness the benefits of Cloud Computing, Government of India has embarked upon an ambitious initiative - "GI Cloud" which has been named as 'MeghRaj'. This initiative is to implement various components including governance mechanism to ensure proliferation of Cloud in the government. The focus of this initiative is to accelerate delivery of e-services in the country while optimizing ICT spending of the Government. MeghRaj will ensure optimum utilization of the infrastructure and speed up the development and deployment of eGov applications. The architectural vision of GI Cloud encompasses a set of discrete cloud computing environments spread across multiple locations, built on existing or new (augmented) infrastructure, following a set of common protocols, guidelines and standards issued by the Government of India.

  • Advantages of GI Cloud:

    Optimum utilization of existing infrastructure Rapid deployment and reusability: Any software made available by any government of department in India can be made available to other departments as well without additional costs. Manageability and maintainability: It provides single point for maintaining Information & Communication Technology (ICT) infrastructure in India. Scalability: According to the demands from the citizens of India, infrastructure of the government can be increased accordingly. Efficient service delivery Security: A security framework for the entire GI Cloud will lead to less environmental complexity and less potential vulnerability. Increased user mobility Reduced effort in managing technology Ease of first time IT solution deployment Cost reduction Standardization: GI Cloud shall prescribe the standards around interoperability, integration, security, data security and portability etc.


    National Super Computing Mission has been envisaged to empower the national academic and R&D institutions, spread across the country, by installing a vast supercomputing grid comprising of more than 70 high-performance computing facilities. These supercomputers will also be networked on the National Supercomputing grid over the National Knowledge Network (NKN).